Joomla 2.5 has reached its end of life as for 12/31/2014. Please be advised this may be a security risk to your website. You can view more information about the end of life here.
In a previous article, we began discussing the basic fundamentals of Joomla 2.5 ACL, Access Control Lists. We covered that the Access Control Lists are based upon:
- User Groups
- Access Levels
- Core Permissions
In this article, we will cover in more detail the Core Permissions of Joomla’s ACL.
When assigning rights / permissions to a user group, you are in essence toggling the Core Permissions available within the Access Control Lists. These Core Permissions include:
|The Joomla 2.5 Core Permissions:|
|Site Login||Site login controls whether a user can log into the front end of your website|
|Admin Login||Admin login dictates who can log into the administrative end of your website|
|Offline Access||Offline Access sets who can see the website when it is set to offline mode|
|Super Admin||Super Admin privileges are similar to root access. Super Admin can do anything, which naturally includes overriding ACL settings|
|Access Component||Access Component gives rights to users for specific areas in the administrative interface, such as managing menus and components|
|Create||The right to create allows users to create new content|
|Delete||Delete controls which users can delete content|
|Edit||Edit allows users to edit any content, regardless of whether it is their own content or not|
|Edit State||Edit State allows a user to change the state of content, such as being published, unpublished, and even trashed or archived|
|Edit Own||Edit own allows them to edit content they’ve created. They can only edit their own content, they cannot edit content created by others|
All users groups have the ability to be given these core permissions. For example, if you go to Joomla Admin >> Global Configuration >> Permissions, you’ll see that all user groups show the same core permissions:
|Registered Users||Super Users|
|As you can see below, both Registered Users and Super Users share the same 10 core permissions.|
In future articles, we’ll cover more on how to toggle core permissions on / off for specific user groups.