PrestaShop 1.6 has been released to the public and many people are upgrading their sites. One of the more common errors that we are seeing after upgrading or a new installation is a white screen. This is very distrubing to some people there is no error message telling you what is wrong. Most often, this is due to the program running out of the allowed memory. This is because PrestaShop 1.6 is a bit more memory intensive than previous versions. This article will demosntrate how to edit your php.ini file to fix the most common cause of the white screen error.

How to edit the php.ini file to fix the white screen error

  1. Log into your cPanel interface.
  2. Once in the cPanel, click on the File Manager icon located in the Files category.
  3. Once in the File Manager navigate to the folder where PrestaShop is installed. This is normally the public_html folder.
  4. Locate and then open the php.ini file for editing.
  5. Scroll or search through the file and locate the memory_limit setting. It is normally set to 32M, which means 32 MB. Change the setting to something larger, say 128M.
  6. Once changed, click the Save Changes button in the upper right corner.

Congratulations. The white screen should now be a thing of the past and you should see your PrestaShop 1.6 storefront.

BeforeAfter
Did you find this article helpful?

We value your feedback!

Why was this article not helpful? (Check all that apply)
The article is too difficult or too technical to follow.
There is a step or detail missing from the instructions.
The information is incorrect or out-of-date.
It does not resolve the question/problem I have.
How did you find this article?
Please tell us how we can improve this article:
Email Address
Name

new! - Enter your name and email address above and we will post your feedback in the comments on this page!

Related Questions

Here are a few questions related to this article that our customers have asked:
Ooops! It looks like there are no questions about this page.
Would you like to ask a question about this page? If so, click the button below!
Ask a Question
n/a Points
2014-05-28 12:06 am

Very good it was very helfull it fixed the white page error, i use prestashop 1.6

n/a Points
2014-07-31 2:20 pm
Well, it might not be the only reason for the white screen, seeming that my problem didn't go away by using this.
Staff
10,994 Points
2014-08-05 5:01 pm
Hello Lars,

Thank you for contacting us. Are you still experiencing issues?

We are happy to help but will need some additional information. What was the last thing you did before this started happening?

What version of PrestaShop are you using?

What Themes/Addons are you using?

Can you provide a link to your site, so we can replicate the error?

If you have any further questions, feel free to post them below.
Thank you,

-John-Paul
n/a Points
2014-08-05 5:08 pm

I installed the latest version 1.6xxx and it worked fine. Then there was an upgrade, and after installing that, the problem arose. Now I have downgraded again and it works again.

I use the standard theme and didn't get very far developing the site, so there are nothing special there.

Staff
10,994 Points
2014-08-05 5:27 pm
Hello Lars,

Thank you for the additional information. As a test, I installed the the latest version of PrestaShop (1.6.0.9) using Softaculous.

I was unable to replicate the blank screen problem on our servers. Since we are an Official PrestaSop partner, we like to stay on top of issues like this.

Putting PrestaShop in debugging mode may help provide a detailed error message.
I recommend contacting your hosting provider regarding this issue, since it may be related to a server setting.

If you have any further questions, feel free to post them below.
Thank you,

-John-Paul
n/a Points
2014-08-05 4:36 pm

If this doesnt work you might also try editing the /config/config.inc.php file with: ini_set('memory_limit', '512M');

 

This worked for me - Im a shared server so no direct access to php.ini file.

 

n/a Points
2014-08-05 5:25 pm

I upgraded and edited the config file, but it didn't work. White screen again.

You can see my shop at www.********.dk/presta 

Staff
10,994 Points
2014-08-05 5:43 pm
Hello Lars,

Thank you for providing a link to your blank page. I have marked out your domain name for security purposes.

I scanned your site using the free Sucuri scanner, and it detected malicious code on your website.

This could definitely be part of the problem. I would clean that before troubleshooting any further.

Please see my previous response, since it was posted after you asked this question.

If you have any further questions, feel free to post them below.
Thank you,

-John-Paul
n/a Points
2014-08-06 1:27 am

Thanks John-Paul

i have passed your information on to my ISP, meebox.net. Hope they can help me get rid of the malware. I can't really see what it is from the Securi scanner.

n/a Points
2014-08-07 5:54 am

Hi I've just installed AvaTax module to my prestashop 1.6.0.8 and after installing this module my front office screen gone blank: www.kax.us

I've tried to delete/uninstall that AvaTax module and it's not uninstalling but isntead giving me this error: [PrestaShop] Fatal error in module Module:

Uncaught exception 'ReflectionException' with message 'Class CartOverrideOriginal_remove53e34c24b3dc1 does not exist' in /home8/kaxus/public_html/classes/module/Module.php:2484 Stack trace: #0 /home8/kaxus/public_html/classes/module/Module.php(2484): ReflectionClass->__construct('CartOverrideOri...') #1 /home8/kaxus/public_html/classes/module/Module.php(2393): ModuleCore->removeOverride('Cart') #2 /home8/kaxus/public_html/classes/module/Module.php(592): ModuleCore->uninstallOverrides() #3 /home8/kaxus/public_html/modules/avalaratax/avalaratax.php(156): ModuleCore->uninstall() #4 /home8/kaxus/public_html/controllers/admin/AdminModulesController.php(645): AvalaraTax->uninstall() #5 /home8/kaxus/public_html/controllers/admin/AdminModulesController.php(1038): AdminModulesControllerCore->postProcessDelete() #6 /home8/kaxus/public_html/classes/controller/Controller.php(171): AdminModulesControllerCore->postProcess() #7 /home8/kaxus/public_html/classes/Dispatcher.php(373): ControllerCore->run() #8 /home8/kaxus/publi

 

I don't know what to do now and how to fix it, my experience in language and coding is none and also I have bluehost hosting and I can't even find php.ini anywhere in my File Manager in order to increase the default memory to something higher so it can fix the problem... please help me ASAP! 

Staff
20,848 Points
2014-08-07 9:15 am
Hello Kax,

If it is indeed a memory error that is causing the white screen, then increasing the memory limit in php.ini should help. If you do not have one in your hosting account, then the account is running off of the server default php.ini, which you will not have access to change.

You will want to contact your host and have them place a copy of it in your account, this way you can make changes to it. Also, be sure that you set the php.ini file to be recursive so that all the folders and files in your account will use it.

Kindest Regards,
Scott M
n/a Points
2014-09-08 5:20 pm

Hello,

     I have multiple presta shop sites and always have friends looking for sites to be built.  I could use somebody of your knowledge to help me.  If you don't mind sending me a private email we can discuss a few current issues I am having.  Thank you

 

Anthony

Staff
18,399 Points
2014-09-08 5:26 pm
Hello Anthony,

Apologies, but our Support Center is setup for support of software through replies and posts here on the website. Please post any questions along with information concerning the problem and we would be happy to help if we can.

Kindest regards,

Arnel C.
n/a Points
2014-10-29 12:53 pm

i have just installed prestashop_1.6.0.9 and i got no error during installation. but when i go to my front office it comes blank white screen and i am unable to resolve this problem. can you please guide me the right solution? 

 

Staff
383 Points
2014-10-29 1:27 pm
Hello Imran,

We are happy to help but will need more information. Could you please provide us a link to the white page? Have you followed the steps in the guide above? Did you manually install prestashop or did you use an installer such as softaculous?

Kindest Regards,
TJ Edens
n/a Points
2014-10-29 1:46 pm

i have installed manually at perstashop.youngjunction.com

here is blank page at perstashop.youngjunction.com

Staff
18,399 Points
2014-10-29 2:41 pm
Hello Imran,

Thanks for the question. Did you try the fix described above? If not, then please try it first. If you're still having the problem, please provide us more information on your account. Looking at the blank page does not help us evaluate the problem. Also, please turn on error reporting. It will help to diagnose the exact problem.

Please provide us a little more information and turn on error reporting so that we can pursue the issue further.

Regards,
Arnel C.
n/a Points
2014-11-13 7:42 am

how can i SOLVE this problem:

 

Fatal error: Call to undefined function mb_strpos() in /home/firsttit/public_html/modules/shopgate/shopgate.php on line 564

Staff
10,994 Points
2014-11-13 12:13 pm
Hello Darwin,

Thank you for your question. I found a very similar issue in the Official PrestaShop forums (sorry it's in spanish), where they suggest:
"After disabling the module (shopgate) clear the cache or persistent cookies from the back office entering advanced parameters, performance and in the upper right corner button for that action appears.
refresh the page and was effectively running the site again.
"

I hope this helps you troubleshoot the error.

Thank you,
John-Paul
n/a Points
2014-11-16 6:19 am

Hi John-Paul,

I actually did that alot of times but it didn't work.

THINGS I TRIED:

1. Tried in my Local Machine and it's working

2. Tried in another HOST Server and it's working.

MY PLAN:

1. Delete the Files from original Host Server

2. Upload my backup-files to original Host Server

 

then,

I will post here whatever the result might be.

thanks.

 

n/a Points
2014-11-18 1:56 am

WAAAAAA... it didn't work after deleting all the files BUT i did what JOHN PAUL said, After disabling the module (shopgate) clear the cache or persistent cookies from the back office entering advanced parameters, performance and in the upper right corner button for that action appears. refresh the page and was effectively running the site again.

IT'S NOW WORKING... Thanks JOHN PAUL.

n/a Points
2014-11-17 6:25 pm

I've been hitting my head on this one. I installed PS 1.6.09 a couple mos ago. I got all my products etc. in and then went to change something in MODULES (from the dashboard) and when I went back to MODULES, I got NOTHING - Blank screen. So, I reinstalled it again. This happened three different times.

 

I then reinstalled, got all the products, photos, etc. loaded, went to 'delete' the old customer files PER THE INSTRUCTIONS LISTED ON THE PRESTASHOP HELP SECTION - and ONCE AGAIN!!! When I click on MODULES - NOTHING!! Blank screen.

 

I gave up and went away from it for a month and went on site again, went to MODULES (FROM DASHBOARD) and this is the error I am getting:Fatal error: Allowed memory size of 33554432 bytes exhausted (tried to allocate 311296 bytes) in /export/home2/http/.users/a0/00/36/bf/ibew46.org/www/prestashop/cache/smarty/compile/e3/d9/96/e3d996f25ab862757d4c79254f21c29a2a6caf87.file.header.tpl.php on line 418 [PrestaShop] Fatal error in module e3d996f25ab862757d4c79254f21c29a2a6caf87.file.header.tpl:Allowed memory size of 33554432 bytes exhausted (tried to allocate 311296 bytes)Now, I am NOT a PHP literate person; I have installed MySQL and am in phpMyAdmin but am a little 'shy' about what to do with it.

I *like* the ability of what PS has but this is becoming a waste of my time to use. I'm afraid that anytime I may want to add or remove something I will have to RE-INVENT the whole site again!!!!!

 

Staff
20,848 Points
2014-11-17 6:31 pm
Hello Margi,

I can understand your frustration with any program like this. We work with many different ones and they can have us scratching our heads quite often as well. Fortunately, this one looks to be an easy fix.

It basically says that your account ran our of memory when trying to bring up the page. You can correct this by changing the memory setting for your account. The php.ini file is located in your account. This is where the setting lives. We have an article that goes into detail to help you increase the size of the setting so you do not get this error. Let us know if you have any further questions.

Kindest Regards,
Scott M

Post a Comment

Name:
Email Address:
Phone Number:
Comment:
Submit

Please note: Your name and comment will be displayed, but we will not show your email address.

23 Questions & Comments

Post a comment

Back to first comment | top

Need more Help?

Search

Ask the Community!

Get help with your questions from our community of like-minded hosting users and InMotion Hosting Staff.

Current Customers

Chat: Click to Chat Now E-mail: support@InMotionHosting.com
Call: 888-321-HOST (4678) Ticket: Submit a Support Ticket

Not a Customer?

Get web hosting from a company that is here to help. Sign up today!