PrestaShop 1.6 has been released to the public and many people are upgrading their sites. One of the more common errors that we are seeing after upgrading or a new installation is a white screen. This is very distrubing to some people there is no error message telling you what is wrong. Most often, this is due to the program running out of the allowed memory. This is because PrestaShop 1.6 is a bit more memory intensive than previous versions. This article will demosntrate how to edit your php.ini file to fix the most common cause of the white screen error.

How to edit the php.ini file to fix the white screen error

  1. Log into your cPanel interface.
  2. Once in the cPanel, click on the File Manager icon located in the Files category.
  3. Once in the File Manager navigate to the folder where PrestaShop is installed. This is normally the public_html folder.
  4. Locate and then open the php.ini file for editing.
  5. Scroll or search through the file and locate the memory_limit setting. It is normally set to 32M, which means 32 MB. Change the setting to something larger, say 128M.
  6. Once changed, click the Save Changes button in the upper right corner.

Congratulations. The white screen should now be a thing of the past and you should see your PrestaShop 1.6 storefront.

BeforeAfter
Did you find this article helpful?

We value your feedback!

Why was this article not helpful? (Check all that apply)
The article is too difficult or too technical to follow.
There is a step or detail missing from the instructions.
The information is incorrect or out-of-date.
It does not resolve the question/problem I have.
How did you find this article?
Please tell us how we can improve this article:
Email Address
Name

new! - Enter your name and email address above and we will post your feedback in the comments on this page!

Support Center Login


Social Media Login

Related Questions

Here are a few questions related to this article that our customers have asked:
Ooops! It looks like there are no questions about this page.
Would you like to ask a question about this page? If so, click the button below!
Ask a Question
n/a Points
2014-05-28 12:06 am

Very good it was very helfull it fixed the white page error, i use prestashop 1.6

n/a Points
2014-07-31 2:20 pm
Well, it might not be the only reason for the white screen, seeming that my problem didn't go away by using this.
Staff
11,836 Points
2014-08-05 5:01 pm
Hello Lars,

Thank you for contacting us. Are you still experiencing issues?

We are happy to help but will need some additional information. What was the last thing you did before this started happening?

What version of PrestaShop are you using?

What Themes/Addons are you using?

Can you provide a link to your site, so we can replicate the error?

If you have any further questions, feel free to post them below.
Thank you,

-John-Paul
n/a Points
2014-08-05 5:08 pm

I installed the latest version 1.6xxx and it worked fine. Then there was an upgrade, and after installing that, the problem arose. Now I have downgraded again and it works again.

I use the standard theme and didn't get very far developing the site, so there are nothing special there.

Staff
11,836 Points
2014-08-05 5:27 pm
Hello Lars,

Thank you for the additional information. As a test, I installed the the latest version of PrestaShop (1.6.0.9) using Softaculous.

I was unable to replicate the blank screen problem on our servers. Since we are an Official PrestaSop partner, we like to stay on top of issues like this.

Putting PrestaShop in debugging mode may help provide a detailed error message.
I recommend contacting your hosting provider regarding this issue, since it may be related to a server setting.

If you have any further questions, feel free to post them below.
Thank you,

-John-Paul
n/a Points
2014-08-05 4:36 pm

If this doesnt work you might also try editing the /config/config.inc.php file with: ini_set('memory_limit', '512M');

 

This worked for me - Im a shared server so no direct access to php.ini file.

 

n/a Points
2014-08-05 5:25 pm

I upgraded and edited the config file, but it didn't work. White screen again.

You can see my shop at www.********.dk/presta 

Staff
11,836 Points
2014-08-05 5:43 pm
Hello Lars,

Thank you for providing a link to your blank page. I have marked out your domain name for security purposes.

I scanned your site using the free Sucuri scanner, and it detected malicious code on your website.

This could definitely be part of the problem. I would clean that before troubleshooting any further.

Please see my previous response, since it was posted after you asked this question.

If you have any further questions, feel free to post them below.
Thank you,

-John-Paul
n/a Points
2014-08-06 1:27 am

Thanks John-Paul

i have passed your information on to my ISP, meebox.net. Hope they can help me get rid of the malware. I can't really see what it is from the Securi scanner.

n/a Points
2014-08-07 5:54 am

Hi I've just installed AvaTax module to my prestashop 1.6.0.8 and after installing this module my front office screen gone blank: www.kax.us

I've tried to delete/uninstall that AvaTax module and it's not uninstalling but isntead giving me this error: [PrestaShop] Fatal error in module Module:

Uncaught exception 'ReflectionException' with message 'Class CartOverrideOriginal_remove53e34c24b3dc1 does not exist' in /home8/kaxus/public_html/classes/module/Module.php:2484 Stack trace: #0 /home8/kaxus/public_html/classes/module/Module.php(2484): ReflectionClass->__construct('CartOverrideOri...') #1 /home8/kaxus/public_html/classes/module/Module.php(2393): ModuleCore->removeOverride('Cart') #2 /home8/kaxus/public_html/classes/module/Module.php(592): ModuleCore->uninstallOverrides() #3 /home8/kaxus/public_html/modules/avalaratax/avalaratax.php(156): ModuleCore->uninstall() #4 /home8/kaxus/public_html/controllers/admin/AdminModulesController.php(645): AvalaraTax->uninstall() #5 /home8/kaxus/public_html/controllers/admin/AdminModulesController.php(1038): AdminModulesControllerCore->postProcessDelete() #6 /home8/kaxus/public_html/classes/controller/Controller.php(171): AdminModulesControllerCore->postProcess() #7 /home8/kaxus/public_html/classes/Dispatcher.php(373): ControllerCore->run() #8 /home8/kaxus/publi

 

I don't know what to do now and how to fix it, my experience in language and coding is none and also I have bluehost hosting and I can't even find php.ini anywhere in my File Manager in order to increase the default memory to something higher so it can fix the problem... please help me ASAP! 

Staff
22,045 Points
2014-08-07 9:15 am
Hello Kax,

If it is indeed a memory error that is causing the white screen, then increasing the memory limit in php.ini should help. If you do not have one in your hosting account, then the account is running off of the server default php.ini, which you will not have access to change.

You will want to contact your host and have them place a copy of it in your account, this way you can make changes to it. Also, be sure that you set the php.ini file to be recursive so that all the folders and files in your account will use it.

Kindest Regards,
Scott M
n/a Points
2014-09-08 5:20 pm

Hello,

     I have multiple presta shop sites and always have friends looking for sites to be built.  I could use somebody of your knowledge to help me.  If you don't mind sending me a private email we can discuss a few current issues I am having.  Thank you

 

Anthony

Staff
19,716 Points
2014-09-08 5:26 pm
Hello Anthony,

Apologies, but our Support Center is setup for support of software through replies and posts here on the website. Please post any questions along with information concerning the problem and we would be happy to help if we can.

Kindest regards,

Arnel C.
n/a Points
2014-10-29 12:53 pm

i have just installed prestashop_1.6.0.9 and i got no error during installation. but when i go to my front office it comes blank white screen and i am unable to resolve this problem. can you please guide me the right solution? 

 

Staff
628 Points
2014-10-29 1:27 pm
Hello Imran,

We are happy to help but will need more information. Could you please provide us a link to the white page? Have you followed the steps in the guide above? Did you manually install prestashop or did you use an installer such as softaculous?

Kindest Regards,
TJ Edens
n/a Points
2014-10-29 1:46 pm

i have installed manually at perstashop.youngjunction.com

here is blank page at perstashop.youngjunction.com

Staff
19,716 Points
2014-10-29 2:41 pm
Hello Imran,

Thanks for the question. Did you try the fix described above? If not, then please try it first. If you're still having the problem, please provide us more information on your account. Looking at the blank page does not help us evaluate the problem. Also, please turn on error reporting. It will help to diagnose the exact problem.

Please provide us a little more information and turn on error reporting so that we can pursue the issue further.

Regards,
Arnel C.
n/a Points
2014-11-13 7:42 am

how can i SOLVE this problem:

 

Fatal error: Call to undefined function mb_strpos() in /home/firsttit/public_html/modules/shopgate/shopgate.php on line 564

Staff
11,836 Points
2014-11-13 12:13 pm
Hello Darwin,

Thank you for your question. I found a very similar issue in the Official PrestaShop forums (sorry it's in spanish), where they suggest:
"After disabling the module (shopgate) clear the cache or persistent cookies from the back office entering advanced parameters, performance and in the upper right corner button for that action appears.
refresh the page and was effectively running the site again.
"

I hope this helps you troubleshoot the error.

Thank you,
John-Paul
n/a Points
2014-11-16 6:19 am

Hi John-Paul,

I actually did that alot of times but it didn't work.

THINGS I TRIED:

1. Tried in my Local Machine and it's working

2. Tried in another HOST Server and it's working.

MY PLAN:

1. Delete the Files from original Host Server

2. Upload my backup-files to original Host Server

 

then,

I will post here whatever the result might be.

thanks.

 

n/a Points
2014-11-18 1:56 am

WAAAAAA... it didn't work after deleting all the files BUT i did what JOHN PAUL said, After disabling the module (shopgate) clear the cache or persistent cookies from the back office entering advanced parameters, performance and in the upper right corner button for that action appears. refresh the page and was effectively running the site again.

IT'S NOW WORKING... Thanks JOHN PAUL.

n/a Points
2014-11-17 6:25 pm

I've been hitting my head on this one. I installed PS 1.6.09 a couple mos ago. I got all my products etc. in and then went to change something in MODULES (from the dashboard) and when I went back to MODULES, I got NOTHING - Blank screen. So, I reinstalled it again. This happened three different times.

 

I then reinstalled, got all the products, photos, etc. loaded, went to 'delete' the old customer files PER THE INSTRUCTIONS LISTED ON THE PRESTASHOP HELP SECTION - and ONCE AGAIN!!! When I click on MODULES - NOTHING!! Blank screen.

 

I gave up and went away from it for a month and went on site again, went to MODULES (FROM DASHBOARD) and this is the error I am getting:Fatal error: Allowed memory size of 33554432 bytes exhausted (tried to allocate 311296 bytes) in /export/home2/http/.users/a0/00/36/bf/ibew46.org/www/prestashop/cache/smarty/compile/e3/d9/96/e3d996f25ab862757d4c79254f21c29a2a6caf87.file.header.tpl.php on line 418 [PrestaShop] Fatal error in module e3d996f25ab862757d4c79254f21c29a2a6caf87.file.header.tpl:Allowed memory size of 33554432 bytes exhausted (tried to allocate 311296 bytes)Now, I am NOT a PHP literate person; I have installed MySQL and am in phpMyAdmin but am a little 'shy' about what to do with it.

I *like* the ability of what PS has but this is becoming a waste of my time to use. I'm afraid that anytime I may want to add or remove something I will have to RE-INVENT the whole site again!!!!!

 

Staff
22,045 Points
2014-11-17 6:31 pm
Hello Margi,

I can understand your frustration with any program like this. We work with many different ones and they can have us scratching our heads quite often as well. Fortunately, this one looks to be an easy fix.

It basically says that your account ran our of memory when trying to bring up the page. You can correct this by changing the memory setting for your account. The php.ini file is located in your account. This is where the setting lives. We have an article that goes into detail to help you increase the size of the setting so you do not get this error. Let us know if you have any further questions.

Kindest Regards,
Scott M
n/a Points
2014-12-30 7:55 pm

idk what to say, it solved when i delete the file php.ini on cpanel. But i really dont understand why i need to delete this file.

Staff
10,819 Points
2014-12-30 8:02 pm
It's possible that you had some incorrect data within your php.ini file which was causing a conflict.
n/a Points
2015-01-07 8:36 am

THE PRESTASHOP 1.6.0.9 SHOWING 500 ERROR WHEN CLICK ON I CONFIRM MY ORDER. WHEN I SELECT THE PAYMENT TYPE COD

Staff
19,716 Points
2015-01-07 9:57 am
Hello Sunny,

Sorry to hear that you're having problems with PrestaShop. The 500 error is still very general and we need specific information. The best way is to turn on error reporting in PrestaShop 1.6. This will give us a verbose description of the error. Please enable error reporting, refresh the page where the error is occurring and then let us know what specific error message you're seeing.

Regards,
Arnel C.
n/a Points
2015-01-29 9:04 am

I have the same problem in two shops, it does not always occur but it makes shopping very difficult. In the back office, when I open the order table, i do not see any products listed, nor the delivery option, although I see the price, delivery included. I managed to track the error, here is the flow:

Staff
11,836 Points
2015-01-29 3:28 pm
Hello Jakub,

Thank you for contacting us. I reviewed the information you provided, and it seems you provided the full source of your page, rather than just the error message. (I had to delete to delete it to make the page navigable.)

Please provide just the error messages alone, so we can help narrow down the cause.

Thank you,
John-Paul
n/a Points
2015-01-09 12:42 pm

Hello

 

I upgrade prestashop 1.4.9 to last version and happen the blank white sreen error

 

I can enter in admin but website is white

 

I already deactivated modules and try the php.ini and dont work

 

Errors:

File modules/nvn_export_products/download/nvn_products_export_vmn5i94a1I.xml (size: 23643757) has been skipped during backup. [TRANSLATION] The translation files have not been merged into file /home/pasgelpa/public_html/store/themes/default-bootstrap/modules/bankwire/translations/en.php. Switch to copy /home/pasgelpa/public_html/store/themes/default-bootstrap/modules/bankwire/translations/en.php. [TRANSLATION] The translation files have not been merged into file /home/pasgelpa/public_html/store/themes/default-bootstrap/modules/blockcms/translations/en.php. Switch to copy /home/pasgelpa/public_html/store/themes/default-bootstrap/modules/blockcms/translations/en.php. [TRANSLATION] The translation files have not been merged into file /home/pasgelpa/public_html/store/themes/default-bootstrap/modules/cheque/translations/en.php. Switch to copy /home/pasgelpa/public_html/store/themes/default-bootstrap/modules/cheque/translations/en.php.

Staff
19,716 Points
2015-01-09 12:55 pm
Hello Alex,

Sorry to hear that you're having problems with the PrestaShop upgrade. Were you using a default theme in the 1.49 version? Was it modified in anyway? If so, it's possible that the reason you're getting a white screen will be related to the theme and some element of it. You would need to speak with the theme author for the conversion to 1.6x. Also, make sure that you have turned on error reporting in PrestaShop 1.6. This should help to give a more concise view of what's happening when you're looking at the website (instead of just getting a blank white page).

Finally, make sure that you have reviewed PrestaShop's instructions on the upgrade from 1.4. It's possible that they may have provided a way to upgrade that would alleviate the problems you are having.

I hope this helps to answer your question, please let us know if you require any further assistance.

Regards,
Arnel C.
n/a Points
2015-01-09 1:08 pm

Hello And thank you for your response

First i Change for defaut theme only after that I did the update

I will try update one more time and  turned on error reporting

n/a Points
2015-01-19 1:16 pm

Hi you guys

I looking for the file , but i dont found it. 

I actualized to 1.3 to 1.6 Prestashop, with the One Click upgrade

But in the Files in the Server i dont found it.

Please Help me 

Thanks

Staff
22,045 Points
2015-01-19 1:48 pm
Hello Rodrigo,

Are you saying you do not have php.ini file? This is something easily fixed by your hosting provider. Simply contact the support team and ask for them to create one in your account. They will give you a default copy that you can then edit for your own needs.

Kindest Regards,
Scott M
n/a Points
2015-01-19 2:14 pm

Scott

Thanks for your answer. Sadly my client dont have comunication with his hosting provider. But I analized the page and came out this error.

 

Fatal error: Uncaught --> Smarty Compiler: Syntax error in template "/home/fulltecnologia/fulltecnologia.cl/modules/categoriesbar/category-bar-level.tpl" on line 8 "{include file=$tpl_dir./category-tree-branch.tpl node=$child last='true'}" - Unexpected "/", expected one of: "{" , "$" , "identifier" , INTEGER <-- thrown in/home/fulltecnologia/fulltecnologia.cl/tools/smarty/sysplugins/smarty_internal_templatecompilerbase.php on line 8

 

 

Regards

Staff
19,716 Points
2015-01-19 2:43 pm
Hello Rodrigo,

It appears that you might be using a slider that is appropriate only for the older version. This particular error is discussed in the PrestaShop forums here. I hope this helps to answer your question, please let us know if you require any further assistance. You may need to speak with the developer of the theme to see if there is a compatible release.

Regards,
Arnel C.
n/a Points
2015-01-19 6:35 pm

Thanks Arn

But,what i´ll do for fix this problem?

I cant do it.

Thanks

 

Staff
22,045 Points
2015-01-19 6:41 pm
Hello Rodrigo,

You will need to find a slider that will work with the current version or check to see if there is an update for the slider you are using.

Kindest Regards,
Scott M

Post a Comment

Name:
Email Address:
Phone Number:
Comment:
Submit

Please note: Your name and comment will be displayed, but we will not show your email address.

39 Questions & Comments

Post a comment

Back to first comment | top

Need more Help?

Search

Ask the Community!

Get help with your questions from our community of like-minded hosting users and InMotion Hosting Staff.

Current Customers

Chat: Click to Chat Now E-mail: support@InMotionHosting.com
Call: 888-321-HOST (4678) Ticket: Submit a Support Ticket

Not a Customer?

Get web hosting from a company that is here to help. Sign up today!