How to Enable the Disk Usage notifications for your VPS

Your VPS hosting plan provides you several notifications that provide warnings when resources are being exhausted. Three of these notifications are: system disk space usage warning, disk quota usage warning, and out of memory warning. You can easily find these settings in WHM using Tweak Settings. The following tutorial will review how to find these notifications in your VPS. You will also see a large number of other notifications that you can choose to activate.

Note that you will need root access in order to use these directions.

  1. Login to the WHM as the Root User
  2. Search for Tweak

    In the search field in the top left corner, type in tweak.

  3. Click on Tweak settings

    Click on Tweak Settings.

  4. Click notifications

    On the Tweak Settings page, click on the tab labeled Notifications.

  5. Notifications page

    You will see the notifications that you can set in the Notifications page. Find these three notifications that we discussed at the beginning of the article:

    System disk space usage
    Disk Quota Usage
    Out of memory

    These notifications are by default set to “on”. If you wish to disable them, then simply click on the “off” radial button, then click on the Save button at the bottom of the page.

The other notifications that you can find in this section include:

  • Account system disk usage “warn” percentage
  • Account system disk usage “critical” percentage
  • Account disk quota “warn” percentage
  • Notify admin or reseller when disk quota reaches “warn” state
  • Account disk quota “critical” percentage
  • Notify admin or reseller when disk quota reaches “critical” state
  • Account disk quota “full” percentage
  • Notify admin or reseller when disk quota reaches “full” state
  • Account disk quota “full” percentage
  • Enable mailbox usage warnings
  • Mailbox disk quota “warn” percentage
  • Mailbox disk quota “critical” percentage
  • Mailbox disk quota “full” percentage
  • Bandwidth limit check

Note: Notifications that are in bold in the list above are activated.

You will also see the other available notifications for your account. You can set these options to be enabled or change their threshold for activation.

Leave a Reply