If you decide to use Google Vault as a long-term data retention and discovery service and you already have a Google Workspace account, you may need to purchase licenses to use Google Vault. Depending on which edition of Google Workspace you purchased, these licenses may be included for no additional cost. In this article we will outline which versions of Google Workspace include Google Vault licenses and provide instructions on how to purchase add-on licenses.
Licenses and Google Workspace Editions
In order to use Google Vault, your Google Workspace account must have a valid license. These licenses are included automatically in the following editions of Google Workspace:
- Business Plus
- Enterprise Essentials
- Educational Editions
- G Suite Business
Other editions of Google Workspace do not include licenses but do support add-on licenses:
- Enterprise Starter
- G Suite Basic
It is important to note that Google Vault services can be interrupted in the event of failed payments, out-of-date payment information, or if a user account is deleted from Google Workspace. Additionally, if you purchase add-on licenses you will need to ensure that they are assigned to the appropriate users before Google Workspace data is retained in Google Vault.
How to Purchase Google Vault Licenses
If you have an edition of Google Workspace that supports add-on licenses, they can be purchased using the following instructions:
- First, ensure that you are logged into your Google Admin dashboard.
- Next, navigate to Apps > Google Workspace.
- On the next page, click Add Services in the top right corner.
- From the list, locate Google Vault and click Add It Now.
- Next, follow the on-screen prompts to complete the process.
Congratulations, you now know how to purchase Google Vault licenses!
Google Vault F.A.Q.
Why Is Google Vault Not Available For My Organization?
This is likely due to the version of Google Workspace being used. Since only certain versions include Google Vault, you will likely need to upgrade to one of the versions that supports Google Vault.
Does Deleting a User in Google Workspace Also Delete Their Vault Data?
Yes. If you delete a user in Google Workspace it will also delete the data they have retained in the vault.
How Do I Retain a User’s Data After They’ve Left the Organization?
If a user leaves your organization but you’d like to retain the data in their vault, consider suspending the user rather than deleting it. If a user account is suspended, the user’s data will be retained in the vault.
Can I Use a Custom URL with Google Vault?
No, unfortunately this is not possible. Google Vault can only be accessed via ediscovery.google.com, and it is not possible to change this due to security reasons.
I Can’t Find Certain Emails in Google Vault
Email messages will only be retained within Google Vault if the messages are successfully delivered. If a message is rejected due to spam detection or another security feature, the email will not be retained in Google Vault.
Can I Restore Emails From Google Vault?
Yes. If emails are saved in Google Vault, they can be restored relatively easily in the event of accidental deletion or data loss.
Now that you’ve purchased Google Vault licenses, consider setting up building management to help you keep track of physical locations and associated resources.