InMotion Hosting Support Center

At times, you may want to sell a digital product such as an image, audio file, or e-book. This can be easily accomplished in OpenCart. To offer a downloadable product, you'll first have to upload the file within OpenCart and then you'll need to link the file to a product. 

Important! Remember to uncheck the "Requires Shipping" checkbox or your customers will be charged shipping fees by mistake.

Uploading Your Digital Product

  1. Log into your OpenCart Dashboard
  2. Go to Catalog > Downloads
  3. Click “Insert” in the upper right corner
  4. opencart_digital_1

  5. Fill in the fields with a download name, Select the file to upload on your local computer, and type in the number of downloads allowed per user purchase
  6. opencart_digital_2

  7. Click “Save

Linking the download file to a product

  1. Log into your OpenCart Dashboard
  2. Go to Products
  3. Click “Insert” to create a new product or click “Edit” next to an existing product
  4. Click on the “links” tab
  5. Scroll towards the bottom of the page, go to the “Downloads” section and select the file you want to be made available on this product
  6. opencart_digital_3

  7. While still editing this product, click on the “Data” tab and scroll down to the section called “Weight”. Enter a weight of “0” (zero) in the field. This tells OpenCart it is a downloadable product
  8. Click on “Save” in the upper right corner

Trial products

If you want to offer your customers a trial of your software, there are a few different routes you can take.

Prerequisites

As OpenCart cannot simply modify your downloadable products to offer some sort of trial, you will need to have one of the following to offer as the trial:

  • Two versions of your software; One that is fully unlocked that you will sell and one that only works as a trial
  • Offer a single product for download and sell the license key either within the software, or through another product on your site

Adding the trial product

If you are offering the trial product as a secondary item in your store, you can simply add it just as you would any other downloadable product, and sent the price to be free.

You could also place some sort of additional download link to the product within your main product page which would allow you to have a single page for both the trial product as well as the paid product.

If you need further assistance please feel free to ask a question in our support center website.

Continued Education in Course OpenCart
You are viewing Section 32: 303: Creating a Downloadable Product in OpenCart 1.5
Section 31: 304: Adding a store credit to a customer's account in OpenCart 1.5
Section 33: 302: Dealing with Returned Orders in OpenCart 1.5

Support Center Login

Social Media Login

   
Social Login Joomla

Related Questions

Here are a few questions related to this article that our customers have asked:
OpenCart downloadable trial products
Would you like to ask a question about this page? If so, click the button below!
Ask a Question
2013-02-17 3:28 pm
Hi Tim, Good tutorial but you need to comment that when creating a download only product you need to remember to uncheck the "requires shipping" checkbox.
I forgot and people were being charged for shipping at checkout - lost me a few sales...
Tim
5,889 Points
2013-02-18 1:35 pm
Thank you for the information on that TimP. I added a heading so users will be warned of this.
2013-04-06 6:18 pm
Hello, thanks for your tutorials but this is doesn't work for CD and digital download which mean unique download for each order from the same product, as currently when you make a downloadable product all customer order it can see it in there account and if you put multiple CD key they will receive all of them.

I appreciate if you support me in editing the php file or do it by VQmod.
5,889 Points
2013-04-08 11:49 am
Thank you for your comment elprince !

Sorry for the CD and Digital downloads are not working for you. You can edit the php.ini in your public_html to change any settings. Please see the following link on this.

<a href="http://www.inmotionhosting.com/support/website/general-server-setup/update-local-php-settings">How to update your local php settings</a>

You will need to make the php.ini recursive as well. Please see the following.

<a href="http://www.inmotionhosting.com/support/website/general-server-setup/recursive-php-ini">How can I make my php.ini file recursive ?</a>

If you need assistance doing this, please <a href="http://www.inmotionhosting.com/support/website/website-troubleshooting/how-to-get-great-technical-support">contact tech support</a>. This is a public forum and you cannot put your personal information in here. Tech support will be able to help you with this.

Best Regards,
James R
2013-04-13 10:22 am
Hey. After I select the links tab and scroll down to the download field, there is only a blank field with no selection possible. The requires shipping field is also turned to "No". Any help here is much appreciated!
n/a Points
2014-07-30 12:15 am
Good already
n/a Points
2014-08-29 1:59 am

In Products>Links>Downloads, how many download can I add to it?

If I add eight downloads pdfs and mp3 for one product will a customer be able to download all 8 that I attached in that download field.

Staff
37,753 Points
2014-08-29 10:50 am
Hello BettyBoop,

I am not aware of the max download limit, however I have seen as many as 12. If you need more, you can always add some as a zip file.

Kindest Regards,
Scott M
n/a Points
2014-08-29 11:26 am

Wow Thanks Scott M for a quick response.

The information you gave really helps.

Thanks again!

n/a Points
2014-10-17 2:12 am

Hi,

May i know what file is supported for this? Where the customer can find the download tab in product page? As i tried out the step, i can't see there is a download available in product page. Hope you can help me on this.

 Thanks.

11,186 Points
2014-10-17 8:59 am
Any file type is supported, however, typically it is provided in a zip file. Once the purchase has been completed on the site, the customer will be provider a download link.
n/a Points
2014-10-20 9:59 pm

I have tried to download a pdf file after completed the purchase procedure, however, the downloaded file doesn't show is a pdf file, instead it is a broken file format. May i know any problem with it?

11,186 Points
2014-10-21 9:27 am
Could you provide me with an example so that I can replicate the issue?
n/a Points
2014-10-28 12:58 am

I have solved this problem, but I faced another issue which is I have tried to upload .zip, .pdf, .exe file, but it is only supported for .pdf file. May I know any solutions for this? Thanks alot.

11,186 Points
2014-10-28 8:33 am
I'm happy to help, but I will need steps to replicate the issue. Could you provide me with the exact steps you are taking as well as the specific errors that you are getting?
n/a Points
2016-04-02 5:47 am

you could share the solutions with us Jannie Tan im having the same issues right now :(

n/a Points
2014-10-28 10:06 pm

Thanks for your help JeffMa. Yesterday i have testing on it again and again, and finally all are working fine right now. Thanks alot.

n/a Points
2014-11-20 7:23 pm

With downloaded products is there anyway to tell if they have actually downloaded it and not just purchased. I'm running into an issue where they claim they have not downloaded.

Ideas anyone?

thx

Staff
23,602 Points
2014-11-20 8:01 pm
Hello Insiyah,

Thank you for contacting us. When you set the "Total Downloads Allowed" (Step 4 of the "Uploading Your Digital Product" section above), it should make the file available until it has been downloaded.

Meaning if they are not able to download it, it most likely completed already.

It is possible they are having a problem with their computer, such as hardware, or a virus, bug, etc.

Also, it could be a connection problem, for example their network may be inconsistent, causing issues. Having them perform a Ping/Tracert to your website may help troubleshoot this.

Have you tried to replicate the problem as a customer? For example, using the same browser they are using, and trying to checkout and download the file?

Thank you,
John-Paul
n/a Points
2014-11-20 9:48 pm

Thanks for the response. I have tried to duplicate it, and I don't have any problems. It maybe some confusion the way my site is set up. I assumed what you said if it shows complete, it's complete. 

Thanks again.

insiyah

n/a Points
2014-11-21 10:27 am

Hello,

I've followed these steps but when I get to product-link-downloads there is nothing in the list to choose from :( The downloadable product clearly shows in downloads just not in this list. What now?

Staff
32,948 Points
2014-11-21 10:59 am
Hello Christine,

Sorry for the problem with the downloads. In order for us to see what's happening we need a little more information. Can you please provide us a URL? Also, a URL and extensions/modules that you may have loaded may also give us an idea of how your current OpenCart installation is running.

Please provide some additional information and we'd be happy to help.

Regards,
Arnel C.
n/a Points
2014-11-21 11:06 am

Hello Arn,

Thank you for the quick reply. Is there a way for me to send you this info privatly? 

Staff
32,948 Points
2014-11-21 11:13 am
Hello Christine,

The Support Center provides support via answers that are available to the community. That being said, you can reply to a comment (such as this one) and we can obfuscate any URL that you provide. Comments are moderated before they are published, so it won't be available to the public until we have edited the information out of the comment. Please provide the requested information so that we can look further into this issue for you.

Kindest regards
Arnel C.
n/a Points
2015-01-04 3:01 pm

Really Great Info. Thank you so much!

Regards

Tissy

n/a Points
2015-01-13 12:47 pm

Hello,

Under the upload button I am trying to upload the from_sep13_src_ca.zip file but it gives an invalid file type error. V2011

What can be the problem?

Regards,

Aziz

11,186 Points
2015-01-13 1:16 pm
In the newest version of OpenCart, hover over the <strong>Settings</strong> and click on <strong>Settings</strong>. Then go to the <strong>Server</strong> tab. Here, you will see a bix with allowed file extensions in which you can then add <strong>zip</strong> to the list.
n/a Points
2015-01-13 3:11 pm

Hello,

Thank you for the comment. However I have the Turkish version of v2.0.1.1 and no such settings-> server  tab exists. There is a system tab  with -> shops ->design -> users -> localisation

and there is also a tools tab with -> uploads (there is nothing here) -> Backup/Restore  and -> Error logs

I am talking about the admin panel. There are no settings and server taba anywhere.

Strange dilemma. I have checked every tab an I couldn't find anything close.

Regards,

ASKural

11,186 Points
2015-01-13 3:38 pm
The icon I am referring to is the same as the <strong>System</strong> section that you are referring to. The icon displays a cog wheel. Based on what you have provided me, it seems that <strong>Settings</strong> may be replaced with <strong>Shops</strong> in your translation of OpenCart.
n/a Points
2015-01-13 4:14 pm

Hello,

Through your guidence I have found the tab!! And I thought I checked all the tabs?! Thank you so much!!

Best Regards,

ASKural

n/a Points
2015-01-13 4:41 pm

Hello,

One of these will work for the zip file:

application/zipapplication/x-zipapplication/octet-stream application/zip-compressedapplication/x-zip-compressed (I think this worked for me using 7.zip)application/x-compress

Best Regards and Many Thanks Again!ASKural

 

n/a Points
2015-01-13 9:29 pm

Hello,

I am getting an undefined error message when I try to upload file about 17+ MBs.

I loaded a file which was around 2MBs without any errors. So I changed the Max File upload size to 999M (that is what is written in the php.ini file now) but I still get the message at around 2-3 minutes after upload starts.

Very Starnge!! Any ideas??

Regards,

Aziz S. Kural

11,186 Points
2015-01-13 9:54 pm
Could you provide us with the specific error?

Also, you may need to set your <a href="http://www.inmotionhosting.com/support/website/php/recursive-php-ini">php.ini file as recursive</a> to take full effect across all scripts.
n/a Points
2015-01-13 10:52 pm

Hello,

The php.ini file is at  /domains/shop.chessactive.com/httpdocs  

I think the userpanel type is  a bit different. I found my username but I am not sure how to arrange the

suPHP_ConfigPath /home/username/public_html

code according to the new panel.

Thank you again for your answer. I will be expecting your answer to this one as well.

Regards,

ASKural

Staff
37,753 Points
2015-01-15 11:36 am
Hello ASKural,

The 'suPHP_ConfigPath /home/username/public_html' is for our servers. It is simply a path to where the php.ini file is. You will need to have the su_PHP module installed and running for this to take effect. You may need to contact your hosting provider to see if they have that on their systems.

Kindest Regards,
Scott M
Staff
11,074 Points
2015-02-06 2:27 pm
Hi Alex,

By default, after the customer were to purchase the downloadable product, it would show up in the customers account section on your website once they login.

Thanks!

Tim
n/a Points
2015-02-16 11:11 am

Hello,

 

I am new to Opencart.Feeling diffcult to do a task.I need your help on the below task.Please help me out.

Instead of receving e-mail with Voucher template after purchasing product,Voucher should be downloadable

Users can download the voucher using a chosen voucher template (Happy Birthday or something)

The vouchers are for the service items in the menu page (the items and prices are listed in the menu page).

 

If they choose 1 service(ex:Nail Treatment) item from the menu  it’s the same  price($25) as per the menu

 

But,If they choose 2 service items they get a 5% off from the total of the 2 items they choose(then its $25x2 minus 5%)

 

So the value of the voucher depends on what item they choose from the menu

Then they can download the voucher using a chosen design (Happy Birthday or something)

Staff
32,948 Points
2015-02-16 1:05 pm
Hello Sinu,

Sorry if you're trying to use Vouchers and it's not matching up with how you want it to function. Unfortunately, if you want the vouchers want to be downloadable, you will need to have a developer custom program a solution for you, or find an extension that can do this for you. Apologies that we can't provide a direct solution for your request.

Kindest regards,
Arnel C .
n/a Points
2015-02-22 1:10 pm

I cannot see my Downloads.

I have uploaded PDF file trough administration interface but I cannot see it in my downloads. ( Catalog/Products/Links) 

please see screenshots. I provide links. 

Can you help me please? 

Version 1.5.6.4.

No modules.

https://www.flickr.com/gp/126599657@N07/jSav7U

http://flic.kr/p/riQ9jZ

http://flic.kr/p/qmXctd

Staff
37,753 Points
2015-02-23 4:12 pm
Hello DD166,

In the Downloads field, you must start typing in the name of the item and then it should show in the field for you to select. Did you give that a try?

Kindest Regards,
Scott M
n/a Points
2015-02-25 3:05 pm

Yes. It works. 

Thanks a lot. I stay with Opencart. 

http://flic.kr/p/rjGiLu

 

n/a Points
2015-03-27 2:03 am

Hello everybody, i ' m just using opencart ,how' s the maximum data uploa ?

When i tried to upload pdf file 37mb appears the " upload its required. "

thanks before..

Staff
32,948 Points
2015-03-27 9:18 am
Hello Sutani,

You can set the max upload parameter in a copy of the php.ini file in your account. Check out Increase the max file upload size for further instructions. If you have any further questions or comments, please let us know.

Regards,
Arnel C.
n/a Points
2015-07-25 9:51 am

Hello,

I am using opencart V2.0.1.1 Turkish version. I want to limit the maximum download number (all my products are downloadable files). But there is no tab for this as it shows in the tutorial above.

Can anyone help??

ASKural

Staff
37,753 Points
2015-07-27 1:54 pm
Hello Aziz,

Unfortunately, that seems to have been removed from OpenCart 2.0.

Kindest Regards,
Scott M
n/a Points
2015-07-29 5:49 am

Hello,

Thank you for the answer Mr. Scott!

I distinctly remember seeing it once. I entered 20 and then it disappeared.

That is if my memmory isn't fooling me.

Best Regards,

Aziz

Staff
32,948 Points
2015-07-29 9:21 am
Hello Aziz,

As per the OpenCart Community forum, the feature has been removed. If you have any further questions or comments, please let us know.

Regards,
Arnel C.
n/a Points
2015-07-29 9:51 pm

Hi there, 

I am using the newer version 2.0.3.1 and trying to create instant download products. I have done the steps above as to adding the items first in the catalog download products. But, when I go to the individual item and try to attach the download product that I saved, nothing is showing up automatically. I tried to just copy and paste the file name even into this spot but after saving it and re-entering the product the name is gone. It states its an autocomplete meaning that the item should appear as I start to type in the file name but nothing is showing up. What am I doing wrong?

Thank you!

 

Staff
23,602 Points
2015-07-30 4:03 pm
Hello Melissa,

Thank you for contacting us. We are happy to help you troubleshoot, but will need some additional information. Have you turned the Display Errors option on, or checked the error logs?

Are you using any 3rd party Themes/modules?

Thank you,
John-Paul
n/a Points
2015-07-30 6:46 pm

Thank you for helping. After several attempts I finally got it to work. 

n/a Points
2015-09-21 6:23 am
Hello! I am new to opencart. I want a website with very specific features and I would like to know if opencart supports them. I am a blog writer and my clients include website owners looking for content for their websites. Regarding this, the clients will visit the website and enter the details of their projects. The price is determined by the number of words to be written and the deadline of their projects. This means that the cart will have a form to collect the details and deliver them to the admin. The admin will then complete the project in a word, pdf or ppt document and then make it available for the client to download. Thanks for your help.
Staff
37,753 Points
2015-09-21 3:14 pm
Hello RodgersK,

This is not something that OpenCart will do by default. You may want to search their site for extensions that support these features, however.

Kindest Regards,
Scott M
n/a Points
2015-10-10 5:26 pm

I have opencart installed and use downloadable files all of the time. I have run into an issue of a customer initiating a chargeback with their credit card company, saying it was an unauthorized purchase.  Paypal is asking me to show in some way that it was actually downloaded and in a perfect universe, the IP that downloaded it. Is there any way to find that in any logs or anywhere in the cart?  

Staff
23,602 Points
2015-10-12 10:30 am
Hello AnnM,

Thank you for contacting us. The IP address of the purchaser is included on the original invoice.

ALso, you can see some download information in your AWSTATS, but it most likely will not have the downloader's IP address. This information may be stored in your cPanel logs, such as the access log. If you are on a shared server, Live Support can assist you, or provide the logs.

Alternately, you may be able to provide the Account info (Email address, Username, etc.) of the purchaser to PayPal.

Thank you,
John-Paul
n/a Points
2016-01-14 5:25 pm

Hello All,

I have uploaded and linked PDF file into product but it is not still showing on frontent website. Any ideas?

Thanks 

Staff
23,602 Points
2016-01-15 12:45 pm
Hello Martin,

Thank you for contacting us. Ensure you have cleared your browser cache before testing.

Can you provide a link to the site for us to test?

Thank you,
John-Paul
n/a Points
2016-02-08 8:42 am

I have downloadable products on my site but the only way for the customer to access them is via the link in the email they receive, there is no downloadable link in their account, what have I missed ?

Any help appreciated

Thanks

Staff
37,753 Points
2016-02-08 2:52 pm
Hello Toni,

What version of OpenCart are you using? In checking with how to create a downloadable product, we do not see any specific setting having to do with whether it will appear on the downloads page or not. It should be there automatically. The only thing I can think of that may have an effect is if you only allowed a single download and that it was done via the email.

Kindest Regards,
Scott M
n/a Points
2016-04-01 9:50 pm

Is there anyway to limit the number of times a person can download a file. I have been able to download one 4 times so far with only buying it once. Thank you for your help

Staff
37,753 Points
2016-04-04 2:58 pm
Yes, there should be a setting where you can set the number of downloads allowed per purchase. You can see it in Step 4 above.
n/a Points
2016-04-28 9:25 am

I'm getting error "Upload Required" on pdf file upload whichever above 5mb size.

Yes, I changed my php.ini to recursive, change php config memory limits and add suphp module in my server. But, even now i am getting this error. 

Please share your ideas.

 

 

 

Staff
23,602 Points
2016-04-28 10:00 am
Hello AARK,

Thank you for contacting us. Ensure error reporting is enabled, as it may provide a more detailed error.

Also, verify the changes to your php.ini are registering with a phpinfo page.

Thank you,
John-Paul

Post a Comment

Name:
Email Address:
Phone Number:
Comment:
Submit

Please note: Your name and comment will be displayed, but we will not show your email address.

62 Questions & Comments

Post a comment

Back to first comment | top

Need more Help?

Search

Ask the Community!

Get help with your questions from our community of like-minded hosting users and InMotion Hosting Staff.

Current Customers

Chat: Click to Chat Now E-mail: support@InMotionHosting.com
Call: 888-321-HOST (4678) Ticket: Submit a Support Ticket

Not a Customer?

Get web hosting from a company that is here to help. Sign up today!