Team Member Profile: Tony Klepper

team_member_profile3Hometown: Oklahoma City, OK
Position: Manager: Training & Quality Assurance
Been with InMotion Hosting since: May 2010

How did you get started in the web hosting field?
Surprisingly,  I didn’t go to school to learn about computers or technology. I actually went to school to be a pastor. I had created a few websites and played around with Linux at home, but nothing  on a professional level. InMotion allowed me my first opportunity in the web hosting field. I started out in Tier 1 Technical Support, and quickly moved to Tier 2-C. There I became the Team Lead, and soon moved to the Training Department. Since being hired at InMotion from 2010, I have learned something new every single day; and I love it! 

What is your current role at InMotion Hosting? What do you like most about it?
I am the Manager of both the Training, and Quality Assurance teams. Basically, I get to help people improve and become better  at their jobs each and every day. My job is the perfect fit for me because it has a  great blend of several things, all of which, I enjoy doing. I get to teach and inspire young minds. I have the opportunity to continually learn new software and techniques in order to teach them to others. Even with all the training activities, I haven’t lost the ability  do some coding. You can find me still jumping  onto the command-line on a server to do some troubleshooting. All that, coupled with being able to lead an awesome team of extremely talented individuals is something that  I couldn’t ask for more.

Coolest gadget you own, want to own or have read about?
Well, until every gadget I was promised from “Back to the Future” is available, I guess I would have to settle for something like Oculus Rift or some kind of augmented reality glasses. Ones that actually work without any bugs!

What would you like to tell us about yourself?
Even though my team loves to remind me how much older I am than them, I still feel like a kid. I have been married for 16 years to an awesome wife, and I have two great boys. I have really had a pretty adventurous life so far. My wife and I have lived in China. We have been to Tanzania, Africa, and Thailand. I have been to Costa Rica, Guatemala, Guyana, Honduras, Dominican Republic, Nicaragua, and probably some others that I have forgotten. I also have a collection of knives and swords from every country I have ever visited. I love to have fun, and every day is a new adventure.

Describe your personality in one word?
According to my 10 year old: FUNNY