How to Switch Users in WordPress Without Logging Out

In this article, we are going to show you how you can use the User Switching WordPress plugin to easily switch between multiple users and back to admin without requiring a logout. For admins who manage sites with many users, this can be a huge time-saver.

We will cover:

  • Managing multiple users in WordPress
  • Switching between users without logging out
  • How to use the User Switching plugin

Follow along below to see how User Switching can work for you.

Managing Multiple Users in WordPress

WordPress allows you to easily accept and manage as many users as your site requires. And, as you may already have guessed, different users can be granted different privileges.

As your site grows more complex, you can introduce more specific user roles and privileges. Often, these roles will require testing to make sure they provide the necessary access and restrictions.

Switching Between Users Without Logging Out

By default, WordPress lets you log in as different users, but requires that you log out and log in again as that user. This can be annoying if you have a lot of users. You’ll find yourself spending way too much time on simply logging in and out repeatedly.

Thankfully, there is a plugin called User Switching, which lets you switch users with a simple click. No need to log out and in again.

How to Use the User Switching Plugin

First, you will just need to install the User Switching plugin. If you’re unsure of how to install WordPress plugins, you must follow our full guide on how to install a plugin using the plugin search right from your WordPress Dashboard.

Once you have installed the User Switching plugin, it will look as though nothing has actually changed on your site. However, you will have some important new features available to you.

Switch to User

It’s easy to get access to a different user account. All you need to do is click Users from the left-side menu in the Dashboard. Here you will see a list of all your site users. Hover over the user and click Switch To. That’s all you need to do. Now you will be viewing the site as the user selected.

Switch Back to Admin

There will be multiple points from which you can now switch back to admin. The most recognizable spot will be the user dropdown at the top right of the page. There you will see which user you are currently assuming. Hover over the toolbar and click Switch back to admin to switch back.

Recommendations

The User Switching plugin is a must-have for site admins who manage multiple users. It can be most helpful when managing complicated user roles for bbPress forums and custom sites.

Now that you know how to use this plugin, be sure to let us know what you think of it. Is it helping you save time in development and maintenance? Also, if you have any problems, feel free to leave a comment. We always appreciate the feedback.

Leave a Reply