Change Mailbox Behavior for an iOS 11 Mail Account

Once you add a Mail Account to setup your device to send/receive emails with your domain, the Mailbox Behavior can be re-configured to customize the way certain mail is handled, while using your device. By default, the Mailbox Behavior is configured to save drafted and archived emails to the server’s Drafts and Archive folders and save sent and deleted emails on your device’s local Sent and Trash folders. In this guide, you will learn the steps to change the mailbox behavior for the sent and deleted emails to be saved on the server.

BEFORE attempting to test the new connection. If you do not restart your device immediately after changes are made, they may be reverted on your device and further disrupt your ability to modify the Mail Account.

To restart your device: Press and hold the Power button (for about 3-5 seconds). Drag the slider (located at the top left of the screen) to the right to power off your device. Once the device is powered off, press and hold the device’s Power button until you see the Apple logo appear on screen.

BEFORE attempting to test the new connection. If you do not restart your device immediately after changes are made, they may be reverted on your device and further disrupt your ability to modify the Mail Account.

To restart your device: Press and hold the Power button (for about 3-5 seconds). Drag the slider (located at the top left of the screen) to the right to power off your device. Once the device is powered off, press and hold the device’s Power button until you see the Apple logo appear on screen.

Now that you are familiar with making changes to an existing Mail account in your iOS 11 device, you can adjust the mailbox behavior to better suit your needs.

Leave a Reply