How to Enable the Privacy Notification for Users in Joomla 3.9

The privacy laws in Europe have been heavily affected by the General Data Protection Regulation(GDPR). In order to keep in compliance with that law, most websites have provided options for privacy issues. Joomla 3.9x websites are no exception. The following article will show you how to enable the privacy notification for users of your Joomla! site.

How to Enable the Privacy Notification for Users in Joomla 3.9+

  1. In order to enable the privacy plugin that is loaded with Joomla 3.9+, you will need to be logged into the Joomla Administrator Dashboard. Log in to Joomla with your Administrator user.
  2. Click on Users in the menu at the top of the screen
  3. Scroll down the menu until you see Privacy and click on it.
  4. Enable Privacy pluginOn the right side of the System – Privacy Consent screen you will see a drop-down to enable or disable the plugin. The plugin is disabled by default. Click on the drop-down menu to enable it. The privacy policy will ask users to consent during the login process.
  5. When you are done with the messages and settings, go to the top of the page and click on either the Save or Save & Close optons.

Access

Privacy access options
You can limit the privacy options to apply to specific groups of users by clicking on the drop-down menu in the right side under Access. By default, it is set to Public which applies to all users who log in to your site.

Expiration

Expiration options
You can also set the privacy policy to expiry after a period of time. At the top of the System – Privacy Consent screen you will see two tabs: Plugin and Expiration. Click on the Expiration tab and you will see the options you can select for making the privacy options expire. You can enable it, set the periodic check, Expiration period, and reminder notification period. All of the periods are set by days. You can change them by simply clicking on the drop-down menu.

If you have made any changes to Access or Expiration make sure that you click on Save at the top of the screen in order to preserve your entries. Remember that these settings for the Privacy plugin apply to the User login. Users will see it when they login. Check out the screenshots below to see how they will appear to the user using the default entries. This tutorial uses all of the default settings for the privacy policy. To learn more about adding your own policy, please see How to Add a Custom Privacy Policy in your Joomla 3.9 site.

Login notification
Privacy Policy - agreement option

Leave a Reply