InMotion Hosting Support Center

Now that you have set up your global options in the previous tutorial, you can begin to apply them to specific products. That way, your customers can order specific sizes, colors, and versions of your products. Adding options to a product is done through your OpenCart Dashboard.

  1. Log into your OpenCart Dashboard
  2. Go to Catalog > Products
  3. Select the product you want to add an option to by clicking on “Edit
  4. Go to the “Option” tab
  5. product_option_1

  6. In the box with the green+” icon, start typing the name of the “option” you created in the previous tutorial and choose the option from the auto suggest
  7. product_option_2

  8. Click on the green+” icon
  9. Depending on the option you will see different fields. Click on “Add Option Value
  10. Choose the Option Value, Stock, Price, Weight, etc. that you want to set for that product when a user chooses the specific option. Click “Save” when you have set all the option values
  11. product_option_3

OpenCart allows you to use “Options” globally. If your options are generic like colors or sizes you can use them on multiple products to save time without adding them to the options page in OpenCart. Just edit the next product and start typing the option again and the option will appear.

If you need further assistance please feel free to ask a question on our support center.  Try hosting OpenCart with InMotion Hosting!  Go to InMotion Web Hosting for OpenCart!

Continued Education in Course 101: Installing OpenCart and Adding Products
You are viewing Section 13: Adding Options to Products in OpenCart
Section 12: Setting up Options in OpenCart
Section 14: How to add Related Products in OpenCart:
n/a Points
2014-04-28 8:42 am

product color list changing everytime i edit the colors in the colors option 

Staff
25,902 Points
2014-04-28 2:56 pm
Hello radhamani,

What type of specific behavior are you seeing when editing your options?

Kindest Regards,
Scott M
n/a Points
2014-06-05 3:29 am

I make a select option for different color and also i add some price for those different color. But in the product list details page, i show the selectbox without the options. can you please tell me the solutions?

Staff
11,156 Points
2014-06-05 9:00 am
Could you clarify exactly what you see? Be sure that the quantity is set and all options are properly configured as this article describes. I would be able to better recognize the issue with a screenshot of what you are seeing if you could provide it.
n/a Points
2014-06-26 8:33 am

hi  friend,

 

i need solution for my product options.

if i change the product type means image also change. examplely if i add 6 type of color in similar bag. if i go to change color means bag image also change.

thanks,

nesan

Staff
11,156 Points
2014-06-26 9:21 am
Functionality to change the product image when changing the options is not available within the stock OpenCart installation, but there are additional plugins that allow you to change the product image based on the options selected. I do not have experience with any of these plugins, but they should be what you are looking for.
n/a Points
2014-06-27 10:25 am

thanks a lot for your response.. 

n/a Points
2014-06-29 12:00 pm

Hi Scott, 

I'm having the same issue as Radhamani I think. I've set the global product options and added these options to my product as described in all documentation. The dropdowns appear on my product page with a default option of 'Please Select', but when clicking on the arrows, none of my options are available to select.

Please can you tell me why this is, and how to fix this issue? I have refreshed page several times and cleared cache, etc, but still no product options...

Staff
11,156 Points
2014-06-30 9:03 am
This can happen if you do not add the various option values within the product. Clicking the Add Option Value will allow you to add the various option values to the option itself.
n/a Points
2014-06-30 9:06 am

hi chalky,

i solved that issue using one vqmod file.

link here:http: //www.opencart.com/index.php?route=extension/extension/info&extension_id=10817

n/a Points
2014-06-30 10:06 am

Thanks. My issue was that I didn't specify Quantity and had Subtract Stock set to Yes, and this was resolved by setting Subtract Stock to No. I'm sure I could alternatively have simply specified a Quantity :)

n/a Points
2014-07-02 5:27 am

Hi,

How to I add the size to the colour options I have created?

Say White - medium and large

Black - small

Staff
25,902 Points
2014-07-02 7:52 am
Hello Gemin,

If you want all medium and large shirts to be white and all small shirts to be black, you can simply make the options as they are in the article and just name them as such "large white" "medium white" "small black".

Or if you wish to offer both sizes and colors as different options, simply make an option for each one.

Kindest Regards,
Scott M
n/a Points
2014-07-09 4:58 am

Hi i'm having a problem with the quantity.

Ive added 10 to the quantity, but when i try to "buy" 6 pieces it says out of stock, althought its set to 10. It work if i buy 5 pieces? but not more.

The orginal product is 5 left in stock(1kg), but i cant raise that number if a custom buys 6 of them and i only have 5 left.

Here is a screenshot

http://example.com/outofstock.jpg

Sorry for my english, hope you understand =),

best regards Andreas

Staff
9,968 Points
2014-07-09 5:57 am
Hello Andreas,

From taking a look at your screenshot, it seems that you could be editing the quantity of a different product than the one you're ordering from what I can tell. Either that or you have a special or discount activated.

It looks like the Option Value is the same of 200g (ej spole) between the item in your admin dashboard, and the one in your cart. But the Price is showing 120.0000 in your admin, and with you having 6 of them in your cart it is showing 45.00SEK as the price, and 270.000SEK as the total.

It looks like it should cost 720.00SEK if you were ordering 6 of the same product you've modified the quantity for.

If you do have a special setup, and this is the same product. I might suggest looking at the Data tab for the parent product of these options. Does it have a quantity for the product itself set to 5? I don't think that's the way it's suppose to work, but it seems like your Option Value quantity isn't what the cart is pulling, so perhaps it's basing it off the actual product with no options set?

Please let us know if this helps at all!

- Jacob
n/a Points
2014-07-09 7:39 am

I have a product named: pla filament 3mm and i have 5 of those in stock, those weigh 1kg each.I now want to sell 200g of those spools. Same product but i cut 200g of 1kg, for those who dont want to order 1kg spools.thats why its 270sek totalt, 45x6. 200gx6. I also sell those 1kg thats 195sek each.120 (ex vat) in the option is the subtraction from the price (195/1kg) so its correct for 200g. Same with the weight -0.8kg , 200g.The product itself is set to quantity of 5 left in stock. I havent any specials or discounts availible. I just want the customer to have a chance to buy a smaller quantity.Hope you understand my explanation :)Best regards Andreas

Staff
25,902 Points
2014-07-09 7:52 am
Hello Andreas,

Typically when people sell a product at different weights, they create a separate product. For instance if I sold a 5lb block of cheese and a 1lb block of cheese they would be created as two separate products. Options may be used in this case as well, but separate products tends to have less confusion and accidental purchasing of the wrong amount which can lead to more returns.

Kindest Regards,
Scott M
n/a Points
2014-07-09 10:25 am

Hi!Yepp its probably better. But do you know any solution to this problem? Is there a setting or something that i can try to change?Best regards

Staff
15,558 Points
2014-07-09 12:50 pm
Hello Andreas,

Thank you for your question. A possible option, could be to create a 200g product, then create discounts for multiple purchases.

For example: If you by 5 of the 200g products, it would be be equal to 1kg, and result in a discount.

Aside from this, you would most likely have to use a 3rd party OpenCart extension.

If you have any further questions, feel free to post them below.
Thank you,

-John-Paul
n/a Points
2014-09-30 11:33 pm

hello, need help urgently here, the "Add option value" button just doesn't work. When I click on it, there is no response,,meaning it doesnt not add the option value.

 

pls help, many thanks in advance 

Staff
25,902 Points
2014-10-01 8:47 am
Hello Raya,

This is not normal behavior for the software, meaning that there is an underlying problem. Please provide a bit more information on the issue. What version of OpenCart are you using? Did this work previously? Did you add anything to your OpenCart or make changes between the last time it worked and now? Is it for a specific product? Does it do this every time? Does it do this on multiple browsers or just one? Which browsers have you tested and what versions of the browsers are you using?

Kindest Regards,
Scott M
n/a Points
2015-01-29 12:01 pm

Am not able to add products in open T-shirt. When i click on edit a blank screen appears. after that nothing. To add products in open t-shirt we need to ENABLE the Printable status. But when i will click on edit option its showng blank screen. after that nothing. please help me. its urgent.

Staff
15,558 Points
2015-01-29 1:43 pm
Hello Ritesh,

Thank you for contacting us. When you see a blank page, it is typically suppressing errors.

Turning error-reporting on should allow you to see the errors, will provide helpful clues into what is going wrong.

If you have any further questions, feel free to post them below.

Thank you,
John-Paul
n/a Points
2015-01-29 2:05 pm

Warning: mysql_real_escape_string(): Access denied for user 'root'@'localhost' (using password: NO) in /home/raishops/public_html/admin/model/product/view.php on line 48Warning: mysql_real_escape_string(): A link to the server could not be established in /home/raishops/public_html/admin/model/product/view.php on line 48Warning: mysql_real_escape_string(): Access denied for user 'root'@'localhost' (using password: NO) in /home/raishops/public_html/admin/model/product/view.php on line 48Warning: mysql_real_escape_string(): A link to the server could not be established in/home/raishops/public_html/admin/model/product/view.php on line 48

 

 

After displaying error i can see this page.

Staff
15,558 Points
2015-01-29 3:22 pm
Hello Ritesh,

Thank you for providing the error message. As you can see in the first line, access is being denied for the user/password:

Access denied for user 'root'@'localhost' (using password: NO)

I recommend using a password, and double-checking your username. This should also help with the other errors.

Thank you,
John-Paul
n/a Points
2015-01-29 3:35 pm

That i have solved... i replaced the code with github code.. i can go in product form. But when am trying to enable the printable option its showing error..

Warning: Please check the form carefully for errors!

I have filled all the field..  and in appearance tab i can see this error:

Please select available colors for this product! Please select a default color for this

product!

 
  Default Color
Please add at least one view for this product!
Please select a default Printing Area for this product!
Staff
15,558 Points
2015-01-29 5:36 pm
Hello Ritesh,

Thank you for getting back to us. We are happy to help, but will need some additional information to help troubleshoot the problem.

What version of OpenCart are you using?

Can you provide a link to your site, or the error?

Thank you,
John-Paul
n/a Points
2015-01-31 11:26 am

My website link: www.raishops.com

Please add at least one Printing Area for each view!

Please select a default Printing Area for this product!

These two error i am geting when i am going to enable the printable state in OpenTshirt. My opencart version is 1.5.6.4 . Please try to find a solution for this. My developer droped this project in between.. So i need to finish this by myself. 

Staff
25,902 Points
2015-02-02 10:33 am
Hello Ritesh,

We are unable to skype to solve issues as our support center is designed to be public to help the masses. We would need the exact steps you have taken to create the options so we can duplicate on our own servers. So far, I have not had any issues with creating options for test products. If I can see your steps I may be able to assist.

Kindest Regards,
Scott M
n/a Points
2015-02-09 12:09 pm

Hello.  I am just wondering if there is a way to have the selected custom option appear on the invoice and order confirmations.  As it stands, I was able to add a color option to my products, and it seems to work beautifully.  Thank you for that.  Unfortunately, the only way to see what color option they selected is to go into the admin page and click to edit their order.  The option is not displaying on any of the paperwork, which is a bit of a nuisance.

 

Thank you,

Summer C

Staff
24,088 Points
2015-02-09 2:26 pm
Hello Summer,

Sorry for the problem with the invoice. I checked with a developer on this, because we were a little puzzled by it. When we looked on several sites with products and options, these options would always appear on the invoices. Can you tell us what version you are using? Also, are you using any extensions or add-ons? And can you provide information about the product and how you've configured it? Any information that we can get to attempt to duplicate the issue would help us to identify and hopefully resolve the issue.

Please provide us a little more information and we would happy to look into it further.

Regards,
Arnel C.
n/a Points
2015-02-19 11:51 am

I tried replying to this a while ago, but I guess it didn't go through.  Oops.

I am not surprised that this is puzzling.  I started working at this company last year, and the person who worked here before did some heavy customization to OpenCart.  I have no idea what he did to cause this to not show up on the invoices, though.  We are running OpenCart 2.0, which was updated right before I started here.  

We don't have much for extensions.  The only things listed in the Extension area of the admin page are Shipping, Payments, and Order Totals.

The products having issues are all of the products that have a color option.  They are warning lights and beacons for industrial and vehicle use.  They can all be seen here:  http://www.lampline.com/tomar-43-m

As far as how I've configured it... I just followed what was in this guide.  It worked well, but is a pain in the butt when it comes time to figure out what color product the customer ordered.

Summer C

Staff
2,702 Points
2015-02-20 11:26 am
Hello Summer,

There is no telling how many changes the previous website owner made but it may be better to re-build the website in a dev environment until it is ready for launch.

Best Regards,
TJ Edens
n/a Points
2015-03-14 8:45 am

Hello, I wnat to know is there any method to add option in all products. Actually I want customer must select a perticular city from select option in all products. I have create a option for Select City. And i have lots of product in my site.

I dont want to add option in all products by editing each product because its time taken process.

So, is there any method or shortcut how to add a perticular select option in all products without editing each n every product.

I am using Opencart 1.5.6.4 version.

 

Thanks.

Staff
25,902 Points
2015-03-16 1:45 pm
Hello Abhinav,

You may want to take a look at the OpenCart Extension directory to see if any of those have the features you want. I did a quick listing for adding features to products in bulk. See if that helps.

Kindest Regards,
Scott M
n/a Points
2015-03-28 8:00 am

Hi,

 

There is a latest product carousel on my home page. I want to display some message if there are more sizez available for that product. That is if it has options then diplay message.

How do I check options on this carousel if options are available or not inside the product.

 

I have written this small code but it give me error:

Code:

<?php if ($product['Size']) { ?>

<?php echo "Options Available" ?>

<?php } ?>

 

Error:

Notice: Undefined index: Size in/home/baniyaon/public_html/catalog/view/theme/pav_foodstore_/template/module/pavproductcarousel.tplon line 71

 

Please suggest solution. How to access options in here?

 

Thanks

Piyush

 

 

Staff
25,902 Points
2015-03-30 9:38 am
Hello Piyush,

Unfortunately we do not provide custom codes solutions. However the error message is stating that the Index (Size) has not yer been defined. You will need to define it earlier in your code before you can use it.

Kindest Regards,
Scott M
n/a Points
2015-05-12 3:40 am

Hai..

I am trying to add a new options to a product,the options are not saving..But if I edit the existing option it is saving..

Thanks

Staff
24,088 Points
2015-05-12 9:36 am
Hello Anusuya,

Sorry for the problem with adding a new option. You have unfortunately provided very little information about your installation. The version of OpenCart, if you have any extensions installed, the exact steps you took to create the problem, if you transferred this installation, etc. I did take a look around the OpenCart's support forums and there several people reporting similar issues - not really much in terms solutions. However, check out these posts. The max input vars is found in the PHP.INI file. It can be increased.

If the problem persists , or if you need further asistance, please provide us further information and we can look into it further.

Regards,
Arnel C.

Post a Comment

Name:
Email Address:
Phone Number:
Comment:
Submit

Please note: Your name and comment will be displayed, but we will not show your email address.

42 Questions & Comments

Post a comment

Back to first comment | top

Need more Help?

Search

Ask the Community!

Get help with your questions from our community of like-minded hosting users and InMotion Hosting Staff.

Current Customers

Chat: Click to Chat Now E-mail: support@InMotionHosting.com
Call: 888-321-HOST (4678) Ticket: Submit a Support Ticket

Not a Customer?

Get web hosting from a company that is here to help. Sign up today!