The following tutorial discusses how to remove add-on domains and how to correct possible conflicts due to established subdomains.
Removing an Addon Domain
When you are removing add-on domains it important to remember that the cPanel automatically creates the folder where the website files are saved. If the folder is also a subdomain to the primary domain, then you may need to remove the subdomain before you can delete the addon domain.
- Login to the cPanel
- Check to see if your addon domain is also identified as a subdomain. Go to Domains, then click on the Subdomains icon. If you see your add-on domain folder listed, then remove it.
- Click on the Addon Domains icon and find the addon domain that you wish to remove.
- Go to the Actions column and then click on Remove in order to remove the domain. Confirm the action and it's complete.
Add-on domain error: Domain already configured
On rare occasions, some domains will appear to be removed from add-on domains section, but the DNS settings remain. This will cause an error to appear if you try to re-add the domain that you think had already been deleted. If the domain was abc.com, then error message would look like this:
abc.com is already configured
If you see this error, please contact live technical support by phone/email/chat. Verify your account (with either the last 4 digits of the credit card or the Account Management Panel (AMP) password. Then explain that you have deleted the domain, but you're still having problems with it -give the error. They can remove the DNS entries for you if you do not have root access to the account.
This completes the tutorial for removing Addon domains through the cPanel. Remember that removing a domain in the Domains section of the cPanel does not delete a domain name. To cancel a domain, go to Cancelling a domain registration for further information.
Support Center Login
Social Media Login
Managing your Domains in cPanel
2016-09-21 11:30 pm
When we remove a domain, will the folder be deleted? Or just the "path"?
2016-09-22 10:31 am
It removes the DNS entry, so the domain will not resolve to the folder on your account. It should not delete the folder. It should be in your /home/username folder.